Library Guides@mcc.edu: History 151 & 152 (History of the World): Articles

Ebsco's History Databases

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Access the databases directly using your Mott4Me portal login.

Discover your 14 digit barcode on your portal page - lower right side. Use your student ID number and barcode for Koha and MelCat requests.

Recommended databases for history topics

JSTOR: Full-Text Scholarly Journal This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Gale eBooks - Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials are available 24/7. Available resources cover criminal justice, medicine, education, biography, science, music, history, multicultural information, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most recommended database for research on any topic! This enormous collection of full-text journals provides access to critical information. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study for the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and peer-reviewed full text for STEM research.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and world history topics and features historical reference books, magazines and thousands of primary source documents. Total titles indexed: 150+; Full-text titles: 145+.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary and multilingual resource covering a variety of subject areas including history, business and law. Total titles indexed: 590+; Full-text titles: 570+.
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean. Created in conjunction with Caribbean librarians and researchers. Total titles indexed: 140+; Full-text titles: 120+.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly information on the internet.

Why use an Academic Journal article?

Database articles that appear in Academic Journals provide the most up-to-date scholarly research on various topics (including History). These "scholarly" journal articles have gone through a publication process that includes fact-checking and editing. Some journals and their articles are "peer-reviewed" before they are published. The MCC Database articles can be easily cited in both MLA & APA Format.

Why use the Mott Library Databases?

Databases provide electronic access to content from various journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources in the field of History. The Mott Library subscribes to databases that provide articles for current students, faculty, and staff.

NOTE: The Mott Library Databases are not considered internet resources! However, they must be cited correctly. Mott Courses generally use either APA or MLA format for citing.