Skip to Main Content
Journal and newspaper articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most recommended database for research on any topic! This enormous collection of full-text journals provides access to critical information. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study for the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and peer-reviewed full text for STEM research.
JSTOR: Full-Text Scholarly Journal This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To access current and past issues of the New York Times, create a free individual account while logged into the MCC network.
(See our Online Resources page for further information.) Once logged in to the NYT online archive you can search their archive of movie reviews and criticism.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text art research covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage with hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing, abstracts and thousands of images. Total titles indexed: 1,600+; Full-text titles: 780+.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Content from popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources. Covers wide range of subjects including business, health, fashion, sports, and personal finance. Total titles indexed: 3,400+; Full-text titles: 2,300+.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering. Total titles idexed: 3,600+; Full-text titles: 1,200+.
Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges. Scholarly content most relevant to vocational programs. Wide range of subjects covered including counseling, biotechnology, cosmetology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, law enforcement, and veterinary assistant. Total titles indexed: 1000+; Full-text titles: 900+.
EBSCO One Search This link opens in a new window
If you want to do a very extensive search, use this link to search multiple Ebsco databases at once.
Recommended Ebsco databases for film studies include Academic Search Complete, Art and Architecture Source, Communications and Mass Media Complete, Ebsco Ebooks, Masterfile Complete, and Vocational Studies Premier.
For technical aspects of motion picture and video production, try adding Applied Science and Technology Abstracts.
Other online library resources
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor, a database for high-resolution digital images of artworks, has some interesting historical movie posters and stills.
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200