Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American History Websites
Abraham Lincoln Papers
The complete Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 20,000 documents. The collection is organized into three "General Correspondence" series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material. Most of the 20,000 items are from the 1850s through Lincoln's presidential years, 1860-65. Treasures include Lincoln's draft of the Emancipation Proclamation, his March 4, 1865, draft of his second Inaugural Address, and his August 23, 1864, memorandum expressing his expectation of being defeated for re-election in the upcoming presidential contest.
Brooklyn Collection ~ Historical Newspapers
The Brooklyn Collection is Brooklyn Public Library's local history division, providing a range of information and services about anything and everything Brooklyn. Our rich assortment of research materials and archival documents includes maps, historic Brooklyn photographs, ephemera, prints and the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle.
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
Online Access to Digitized Materials. Use the options below to browse a selection of our historical and scholarly documents online. The Digital Library is constantly growing, as we digitize additional items from our collections.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 63,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.
Diaries of John Quincy Adams
This website presents images of the 51 volumes of John Quincy Adams's diary in the Adams Family Papers at the Massachusetts Historical Society. Adams began keeping his diary, more than 14,000 pages, in 1779 at the age of twelve and continued until shortly before his death in 1848.
A project of The Claremont Institute, Founding.com is dedicated to making the documents and principles of the American Founding accessible to educators and students of all ages.
Freedom's Journal was the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. Founded by Rev. Peter Williams, Jr. and other free black men in New York City, it was published weekly as a four-page, four-column newspaper, starting with the March 16, 1827 issue. Freedom's Journal circulated in 11 states, the District of Columbia, Haiti, Europe, and Canada. All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized and posted on our website. You'll find these documents in PDF format. All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized and posted on our website. You'll find these documents in PDF format.
Boston-based Abolitionist newspaper, published by William Lloyd Garrison, 1831-1865
Women Working, 1800–1930
Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.
Government Websites About U.S. History
Websites Featuring Historical Documents
The Avalon Project
Accessible via the Yale Law School website, the Avalon Project provides access to many historical documents through a chronological list of links focusing on specific historic time periods.
Teaching American History.org Documents (by Era)
The Teaching American History.org website is a project of the Ashbrook Center at Ashland University. This Teaching American History.org Documents (By Era) webpage lists U.S. documents from various historical time periods. To access the document(s), click on the link(s) from the webpage list provided.
U.S. History.org (Historic Documents)
Access historic U.S. documents through this website offered by the Independence Hall Association (a nonprofit organization) located in Philadelphia, PA.
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200