Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off Campus Database Access Instructions
Enter 14 digit number above the barcode on your Mott ID card when prompted to access Mott's research databases.
Why use the Mott Library Databases?
Databases provide electronic access to content from various journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources in the field of History. The Mott Library subscribes to databases that provide articles for current students, faculty, and staff.
NOTE: The Mott Library Databases are not considered internet resources! However, they must be cited correctly. Mott Courses generally use either APA or MLA format for citing.
Why use an Academic Journal article?
Database articles that appear in Academic Journals provide the most up-to-date scholarly research on various topics (including History). These "scholarly" journal articles have gone through a publication process that includes fact-checking and editing. Some journals and their articles are "peer-reviewed" before they are published. The MCC Database articles can be easily cited in both MLA & APA Format.
Recommended databases for history topics
Academic Search Complete
Our most recommended database for research on any topic! This enormous collection of full-text journals provides access to critical information. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study for the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and peer-reviewed full text for STEM research.
JSTOR: Full-Text Scholarly Journal
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
History Reference Center
Covers U.S. and world history topics and features historical reference books, magazines and thousands of primary source documents. Total titles indexed: 150+; Full-text titles: 145+.
Biography Reference Center
Coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Films on Demand
A comprehensive collection of over 8000 high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor. The videos cover a wide range of topics organized into multiple broad subjects, from such producers as PBS, BBC, History Education, NOVA, CNN, and more.
Online sources for historic newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Key Words to Consider
Are You Searching the Mott Library Book Catalog or Databases for U.S. History Topics? Try These Key Words!
- American Government
- American History
- Colonial America
- Early America
- North America AND History
- U.S. History
- World History
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200