Library Guides@mcc.edu: Political Science: Articles

Pro/con issues

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is a great source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Presents multiple sides of an issue. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window

Why use an Academic Journal article?

Database articles that appear in Academic Journals provide the most up-to-date scholarly research on various topics (including History). These "scholarly" journal articles have gone through a publication process that includes fact-checking and editing. Some journals and their articles are "peer-reviewed" before they are published. The MCC Database articles can be easily cited in both MLA & APA Format.

Journal articles online

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most recommended database for research on any topic! This enormous collection of full-text journals provides access to critical information. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study for the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and peer-reviewed full text for STEM research.
JSTOR: Full-Text Scholarly Journal This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. JSTOR includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus. Designed for students, researchers and government institutions. Total titles indexed: 2,250+; Full-text titles: 650+.

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Access the databases directly using your Mott4Me portal login.

Discover your 14 digit barcode on your portal page - lower right side. Use your student ID number and barcode for Koha and MelCat requests.

Why use the Mott Library Databases?

Databases provide electronic access to content from various journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources in the field of History. The Mott Library subscribes to databases that provide articles for current students, faculty, and staff.

NOTE: The Mott Library Databases are not considered internet resources! However, they must be cited correctly. Mott Courses generally use either APA or MLA format for citing.