Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art: Internet Resources
Archives of American Art
"With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America".
"If you are still getting your Manets confused with your Monets, or your Carpaccios with your Caravaggios, then this site will help clear your fog. Type in "Rossetti", for example, and you will soon be flitting about the world's major museums viewing all the Pre-Raphaelite master's works."
Started in 1994 by art librarian Mary Molinaro, this is a list of selcted sources in the world of art.
Artists' Book Collection
"This database is an illustrated, descriptive index to the Artists’ Book Collection, located in the Kohler Art Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Presently, the Artists’ Book Collection contains over 800 titles. The database indexes approximately 760 of those titles, over 500 of which have one to four images to visually represent the structure and/or content of the book."
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection...The basic structure of the Timeline of Art History is both chronological and geographical. Each timeline page includes representative art from the Museum's collection, a chart of time periods, a map of the region, an overview, and a list of key events.
Library of Congress: American Memory
The LOC's American Memory database includes images and texts on many aspects of United States history, culture, and society. Visitors new to the database may browse by topic, time period, geographic location, or type of material.
Online catalog for three New York City collections: the Frick Art Reference Library and the collections of the Brooklyn Museum and the Museum of Modern Art.
NYPL Digital Library
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more."
Pigments through the Ages
This web exhibit includes historical and factual information about the development of pigments. Individual pages for specific colors are included, along with images, recipes, and more detailed information about the development of specific pigments.
This is the Whitney Museum of American Art's portal to net art and digital arts, and an online gallery space for commissioned net art projects. The site consists of five major areas: gate pages, commissions, exhibitions, resources, and the collection area.
British Museum Images
The British Museum is the authoritative source of images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings.
Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
SPIRO: Slide and Photograph Image Retrieval Online
SPIRO is the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries
Join the Flickr community, home to tens of billions of photos and 2 million groups.
Graphic Arts: Online Magazines
Graphic Design: Internet Resources
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200