Counseling Strategies for Children and Families Impacted by Incarceration by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by 
Access the databases directly using your Mott4Me portal login.
Discover your 14 digit barcode on your portal page - lower right side. Use your student ID number and barcode for Koha and MelCat requests.
Quotation marks: when searching for a specific 2-3 word topic or phrase, enclose the words in quotation marks for better results; for example:
Multiple keywords: powerful databases allow you to enter multiple “keywords” for better results.
TAKE CONTROL: Advice
Keyword (like Google): provides everything that matches, including some very strange results. May give too many results to find the good stuff.
Subject keyword: provides better results, but may still give too many results to look through.
Subject Search: very specific, provides the best results, but may be too narrow and limited; important information may be missed.
Wildcard character: the asterisk (*) is a great tool to give you multiple results of a word ending. Consider the search “child abuse.” Change the search to “child abus*” and you will get results from the words: abusing, abuse, abused, abuser, abusers, abuses, (most databases allow wildcard characters, check the help option).
We Were Once a Family by 
From the Eye of the Storm by 
Social Policy for Children and Families
In the Midst of Plenty : homelessness and what to do about it
Invisible Child : poverty, survival, & hope in an American city by
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200
