Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. FREE.
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
A description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. FREE.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
( U.S. Dept. of State ) Series of brief country profiles. Each country edition of is consistently formatted and contains facts and narrative on aspects of the geography, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, U.S. relations, and travel/business conditions. The site links to the profiles through an alphabetical list of countries; each profile shows the date of its latest revision. FREE. (formerly Background Notes)
Learning Modules: Access a broad spectrum of learning modules exploring facets of Culture.
Internet Research: What’s Credible? (28:57)
(2015) On the Internet, it’s incredibly easy, and fast, to research a topic with a few simple keystrokes. But it’s also incredibly easy to end up with unreliable and non-credible information that makes your research efforts fruitless. . . A Coproduction of Films for the Humanities & Sciences and MotionMasters. Item Number: 58373
Plagiarism 2.0: Information Ethics in the Digital Age (21:36)
(2011) For a generation raised on the ideology of “open source” and the ability to quickly cut and paste, the concept of plagiarism may seem foreign or passé. And that, of course, can lead to trouble. . . A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Item Number: 43790.
Effective Internet Search: Basic Tools and Advanced Strategies (27:38)
(2011) Formed decades ago from a small pool of data sources, the Internet has grown into a seemingly endless ocean of information—in which today’s young researcher can easily get lost. . . . A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. Item Number: 43788
Mott's Online Resources
Culture Smart! Series
A collection of eBooks discussing 56 different countries with a focus on business and travel.
Gale eBooks - Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials are available 24/7. Available resources cover criminal justice, medicine, education, biography, science, music, history, multicultural information, and more.
Films on Demand
A comprehensive collection of over 8000 high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor. The videos cover a wide range of topics organized into multiple broad subjects, from such producers as PBS, BBC, History Education, NOVA, CNN, and more.
Over 250,000 books! A wealth of information available 24/7.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media..CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Off Campus Database Access Instructions
Access the databases directly using your Mott4Me portal login. (Fall 2021)
Discover your 14 digit barcode on your portal page - lower right side. Use your student ID number and barcode for Koha, MyLibro, and MelCat requests.
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200