Library Guides@mcc.edu: Health: Allied Health & Consumer Education: Find Articles

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Access the databases directly using your Mott4Me portal login.

Discover your 14 digit barcode on your portal page - lower right side. Use your student ID number and barcode for Koha and MelCat requests.

Searching CINAHL

Searching CINAHL

Databases

Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Total titles indexed: 190+; Full-text titles: 180+.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. Total titles indexed: 500+; Full-text titles: 500+.
Consumer Health Information - Chinese This link opens in a new window
Detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Available in 17 languages. Answers are provided in evidence-based reports that feature graphics, illustrations, easy-to-read text and links to additional information.
Consumer Health Information - Arabic This link opens in a new window
Detailed answersto the 200 most-commonly-askedhealth questions. Available in 17 languages. Answers are provided inevidence-based reports that featuregraphics, illustrations, easy-to-read text and linksto additional information.
Salud en Español This link opens in a new window
This database provides topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures and treatments. Salud en Español is the one-stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets in the Spanish language.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information including magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets. Total titles indexed: 100+; Full-text titles: 70+.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most recommended database for research on any topic! This enormous collection of full-text journals provides access to critical information. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study for the social sciences and humanities, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, and peer-reviewed full text for STEM research.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Search Strategies

SEARCH STRATEGIES:

Quotation marks: when searching for a specific 2-3 word topic or phrase, enclose the words in quotation marks for better results; for example:

“gun control”
“global warming”
“fake news”

Multiple keywords: powerful databases allow you to enter multiple “keywords” for better results.

“child abuse” AND prevent*
“gun control” AND “background check*”
“social work” AND foster

TAKE CONTROL: Advice

Keyword (like Google): provides everything that matches, including some very strange results. May give too many results to find the good stuff.

Subject keyword: provides better results, but may still give too many results to look through.

Subject Search: very specific, provides the best results, but may be too narrow and limited; important information may be missed.

Wildcard character: the asterisk (*) is a great tool to give you multiple results of a word ending. Consider the search “child abuse.” Change the search to “child abus*” and you will get results from the words: abusing, abuse, abused, abuser, abusers, abuses, (most databases allow wildcard characters, check the help option).