Skip to main content
Welcome to the Mott Library
Welcome! LibGuides are a great resource designed to assist you with your coursework here at Mott College. Each guide contains links to texts, databases, and other resources that can be helpful while writing papers and completing assignments.
National Association of Social Workers: Michigan Chapter
Electronic Resources Librarian
New Social Work Books
Professional Writing for Social Work Practice by This invaluable guide helps social workers develop the writing skills necessary for a successful career. Actual examples drawn from all arenas of social work demonstrate strong and problematic writing. Organized around the core social work curriculum, the book's examples are applicable to every foundation course. Each example begins with field notes and proceeds through drafts to the final version, with explanations about corrections. Readers learn by doing through exercises interspersed throughout. Written by a social work professor and an English professor, the book provides a fusion of writing and practice, covering all the tools necessary for developing professional social work writing skills. Key Features: Provides chapters for each of the BSW/MSW foundational courses (Human Behavior in the Social Environment, Practice, Policy, Research, and Fieldwork) to exemplify writing expectations in each area.Juxtaposes original drafts and corrected final versions with explanations about corrections made to highlight common mistakes.Includes writing samples used in actual practice such as research reports, court documentation, grant applications, intake forms, progress notes, press releases, and case assessments that exemplify everyday challenges.Provides self-assessments and exercises to help readers identify their strengths and challenges.Highlights typical writing challenges including sentence structure, punctuation, use of voice and excessive verbiage, and sample resumes and cover letters, providing a valuable lifetime resource.Encourages practice in writing in different contexts and with different audiences to prepare readers for working in any social work venue.Covers legal and ethical issues and writing to influence policy and transmit research findings. New to this edition: Emphasizes writing fundamentals (new chapter) by breaking the process into steps from note taking, to rough drafts, to editing the final version, to help students master most writing tasks.Connects critical thinking (new chapter) and cultural competency skills (new chapter) to writing and infuses this information throughout the book.Addresses the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards and competencies to better prepare readers for writing professional documentation.Discusses the use of the APA style used in social work practice.Provides instructor's resources including PowerPoints, a sample syllabus, and assignments, tips, and activities for using the book in writing and foundational courses. Designed for writing-specific social work courses such as interviewing and documentation, professional seminars, and writing modules in all BSW and MSW foundation courses, this book is ideal for anyone interested in strengthening their social work writing skills.
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers by The SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers presents first-hand stories from practitioners to help inform, inspire, and guide students to become advocates for social justice issues. With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, the book covers fundamentals of the social work profession--from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach--across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. Students in BSW and MSW programs will gain practical knowledge that will prepare them to successfully navigate their way to a rewarding career. Bundle and Save Bundle the SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers with any SAGE Social Work text for only $5 more! Contact your rep for more information. Also of Interest Introduction to Social Work: An Advocacy-Based Profession, Second Edition: Takes students to the roots of the social work profession by covering its history, practice settings, and career paths within a unique advocacy framework. Bundle the SAGE Career Guide to Social Work Careers with Introduction to Social Work using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3029-7.
Publication Date: 2018-04-06
Social Work Practice with Survivors of Sex Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation by As awareness and identification of sex trafficking and exploitation have grown, so has the need for improved social work responses. In this volume, expert practitioners, survivors, and researchers model the best practices for working with this population, using case examples and illustrative guides. Chapters cover the common challenges of working with trafficked and exploited people and how to overcome them, including topics like runaway youth, trauma-bonds, system-level challenges, and resource scarcity. Intended as a teaching tool for students or a supplementary manual for organizations, this book emphasizes interventions and treatments, working with specific populations, programmatic design recommendations, preventative work, and outreach interventions. Researchers, students, and practitioners will find a comprehensive guide to the emerging field of practice with sex trafficking and exploitation survivors.
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200