Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Online Resources Databases
The database listed below may be accessed from on and off-campus. When off-campus, users will be prompted to enter the 14 digit number, above the bar code of their MCC ID card.
MyHeritage Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical ?records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.
US Genealogical Resources
A free, comprehensive, categorized, and cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
Ellis Island - Passenger Search
This database contains passenger records for immigrants who entered the USA via Ellis Island, NYC 1892 to 1957. Free registration provides access to the complete record.
FamilySearch, historically known as the Genealogical Society of Utah, which was founded in 1894, is dedicated to preserving the records of the family of mankind connecting families with their ancestors through easy access to historical records. Use is free, but you must sign up for an account.
Find A Grave
A free website of 121 million grave records and growing, it is a resource for anyone searching for the final resting place of family, friends, and famous individuals.
National Archives: Resources for Genealogists
This web site contains military records, immigration records, census data and much more.
National Archives: Veterans' Service Records
Your or your relative's military service records may be requested online or by mail/fax. Read the Archives page carefully to make sure you have all the needed information.
Social Security Death Index
The Social Security Death Index, as described here by Wikipedia, records names, birth and death dates, and other information about deceased persons. The Wikipedia entry provides several links for free access.
US Dept. of the Interior - Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office records
Searchable database of federal land records. If your ancestors purchased or homesteaded land from the US government, you may be able to find them here.
U.S. historical newspaper sources
National Digital Newspaper Project
"See what states are participating" to find digitized versions of newspapers from various places.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
U.S. historical map sources
Sanborn Maps via Library of Congress
These commercial fire insurance maps published from 1867 to 1977 provided detailed building-by-building information for many towns and cities in the US. The Library of Congress has many pre-1922 Sanborn maps available online, including those from Michigan. If you find your ancestors' address in the census, this may help you find their house or place of business.
Michigan Genealogy Resources
In addition to death records, there are a number of collections ranging from pre-statehood to the late 1960s, and these include letters, diaries, photographs, postcards, and video. Any of the the links below take you to a landing page for a collection that explains what is in the collection and how to search within the collection. If you just want to go straight to the records, click the “View Entire Collection” button.
Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal
Access to either digitized versions of newspapers or links to digitized newspapers made available from a variety of sources. Among these links are papers held by the Clarke Historical Library and also Michigan newspapers found in Chronicling America , a database maintained by the Library of Congress.
Genesee County and Flint Genealogy Resources
Flint Genealogical Society
To fulfill our purpose, the Flint Genealogical Society steadily procures additional research Holdings which are made available for public use, without charge, for family history research. We also offer for sale a growing list of over forty of our own Publications pertaining to the Flint and Genesee County area, including portions of surrounding counties.
Flint Public Library: Genealogy Resources
The Flint Public Library is home to the second largest open stack genealogical collection in Michigan. The collection started with a gift from the Daughters of the American Revolution in 1905 and focuses on New England, New York, Michigan (in particular, Genesee County) and the Province of Ontario.
Genesee County Clerk's Office: Genealogy Research Services
Information about accessing county birth, marriage and death records back to 1867.
Genesee County Deaths and Marriages index
Searchable online index of county death records from 1930 and marriage records from 1963.
Genesee County Register of Deeds
The Genesee County Register of Deeds online search does NOT include records prior to 1989, but such records may be located by contacting the office.
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200