Skip to Main Content

A+ Research Project

A step-by-step guide to the library research process. Suitable for any topic or writing style - MLA or APA.

RESEARCH! You have your focused topic, and have completed your background reading. You have a list of key words, phrases, people, and events. Now you are ready to get down to business! Have you noticed that you are not actually writing your paper, yet?

Use the databases from the Online Resources to gather information from journal articles, magazine or newspaper articles, and ebooks. You will use different databases depending on the topic and the class you are taking. Some databases are like the Meijer and Walmart stores. You can find anything from food to medicine to automotive to lawn products. However, just as there is duplication of products between the two stores, there are also unique brands of items that are available at one store, but not the other. Wouldn't you do some comparison shopping for a big ticket item before you buy it?

Definitely, ask the librarian for help!  If you are sick you see a doctor.  If your car needs repair you see a mechanic.  If you need to find information you see a librarian.  Librarians are the experts at finding and researching for information.

To be sure you are getting the best information, use multiple databases. Which databases you use depends on your topic. Ask the librarian to help you. We can save you time and frustration! And check out our available libguides where you will find suggested databases for broad subjects.

  • Search the databases using significant key words and/or concepts.
  • Do not ask a question or use a sentence to search.  The databases are not Siri or Alexa.
  • Use the asterisk ( * ) as a wildcard when possible:  teen* will give results on teen, teens, teenager, teenagers.
  • Consider removing the "full-text" limit.  You may be missing the perfect article for your research.  Even if it is not available full-text, the librarian can help you get that article.  Just ask! (may take a full week or more to receive)
  • Closely read the abstract (description) of the article to decide if it will support your research.  It will save you time.

TIME MANAGEMENT: 1 to 4 hours.  Save, print, and email articles of interest.  Gather more than you need, so when you have time you can start reading, highlighting, and making connections between articles and books.

Information Timeline

Information Timeline

As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.

Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.

Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.

Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.

Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200