Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy and Religion: Books

Library Catalog Quick Search

Library Catalog Search

Use "subject" instead of "keyword" for more specific results.

2021 Melcat Search

MeLCat is a statewide network of over 400 Michigan libraries.  You can search for books, CDs, DVDs and other materials and have the items sent to the Mott Library for you to check out.   Request items with the 14 digit number above the barcode on your Mott ID card.

Michigan eLibrary logo  |  Search MeLCat

Search for books, audio, movies, music and more!

Reference books for philosophy

  • B51 .C58  Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  • B51 . E5  The Encyclopedia of Philosophy (vol. 1-8)

Just browsing? Philosophy

B1 - 5802   Philosophy

B69 - 99     General
B108 - 708  Ancient
B720 - 765  Medieval
B770 - 785  Renaissance
B790 - 5802 Modern
B808 - 849   Special topics
B850 - 5739 by region
B5800 - 5802 by religion

BC 1-199  Logic

BC 11-29  History
BC 60-99 General Works
BC 171-199 Special Topics

Just head to the appropriate area in the stacks to browse for your topic, or search the catalog (see box to the left).

Reference books for religion

  • BL31 .E46  Encyclopedia of Religion (vol. 1-15)
  • BL31 .O84  The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
  • BL 85 .A84  Atlas of the World's Religions
  • BL303 .U95  U.X.L. Encyclopedia of Mythology (vol. 1-5)
  • BL2525 .M425  Handbook of Denominations in the U.S.
  • BL2525 .M449  Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religion (vol. 1 & 2)
  • BM50 .O94  The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
  • BQ130 .P75  The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
  • BR515 .D53  Dictionary of Christianity in America
  • BS440 .A54  The Anchor Bible Dictionary (vol. 1-6)
  • BX841 .N44  New Catholic Encyclopedia (vol. 1-15)
  • BX8605.5 .E62  Encyclopedia of Mormonism (vol. 1-4)

Just browsing? Religion

BL (Religion in general, mythology)

BM (Judaism)

BP (Islam)

BQ (Buddhism)

BR (Christianity)

BS (The Bible)

BT (Doctrinal theology)

BV (Practical theology)

BX (Christian denominations)

Often, the best way to find a book is simply to browse through the collection, and the categories listed above can point you in the right direction.

As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.

Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.

Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.

Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.

Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200