Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy and Religion: Recommended Websites

Searching on the web

You've heard people say that everything is available on the web. Although it may seem like that is true, there are many things that are not available, so it is still very useful to know how to use a library and its resources, as well as how to search databases, which are on line, but not on the web.

When you're searching on the web, pay attention to the following in order to determine the credibility and value of the site.

1) Is it .com, .edu, .gov, .mil, .net or .org? This can give you a clue as to the origin of the page.

2) Is an author or institution identified and is there contact information?

3) Are the credentials of the author given?

4) Is the information objective or biased? Is it an advertisement in disguise?

5) Is the information current? Is the page updated regularly? Do the links work?

6) Is all the information provided, or do links take you to places where there is a fee or a need for additional software?

By being a cautious and knowledgeable consumer of information, you can find valuable information on the web!

Websites for philosophy

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy:  A peer-reviewed academic resource hosted by the University of Tennessee at Martin.The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the staff, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers.  Most of the articles in The IEP are original contributions by specialized philosophers; these are identifiable by the author’s name at the foot of the article. Others are temporary, or “proto articles,”and have largely been adapted from older sources. They are identifiable by the inclusion of the initials “IEP” at the close and will in time be replaced by original articles.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of the SEP's distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Thus, this dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. Researchers can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in the SEP Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned.  The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

American Philosophical Association : This site offers information about the association, as well as links to other resources.

The Philosopher's Zone:   The Philosopher's Zone is a weekly program on Australia's ABC Radio National as well as a widely-known podcast. The program looks at the world of philosophy and the world through philosophy. It addresses major philosophical questions and arguments and shows particular concern with the contributions of Australian traditions of philosophy.  It also explores what philosophical analysis contributes to the understanding of contemporary issues. The Philosopher's Zone web site offers free streaming audio and mp3 recordings of the programs and  program transcripts.

Philosophy NewsPhilosophy News is a blog dedicated to provide general updates on recent happenings in philosophy and provide commentary on philosophy events, positions, books, and ideas. It is edited by Paul Pardi who has a graduate degree in philosophy and teaches at local colleges and universities Also visit forums.philosophynews.com to discuss philosophy or any topics seen here.

DavidHume.org  This website gathers the philosophical texts of 18th century Scottish Enlightenment philosopher, historian and essayist David Hume.  It features texts in editions closely resembling their 18th century print originals and is fully searchable.

Websites for religion

Be aware that the following websites are commercial sites, i.e. you will find advertising on them, not necessarily related to the topic.  This does not mean, however, that the information is not reliable or valid.  Remember that when you find information on a website, it is always a good idea to verify it in another way.

As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.

Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.

Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.

Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.

Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200