Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reopening Mott Library
The library building is open for checkout and return of library materials during our scheduled hours of operation. Masks are required, and reservations are recommended if you want to use study rooms. Use the free MyLibro app or call us at 810-762-0401 for questions or reservations. Our electronic resources are available 24/7, and our helpful librarians are available by chat and telephone six days a week. See the Reopening Mott Library LibGuide for more information.
Mott Library Faculty LibGuide
A quick guide for faculty. "What the Library can do for you."
Use the MyLibro app to schedule appointments for pick-ups, computer lab, second floor study space, study rooms, Circulation Services, and Research Help. See our Reopening Mott Library guide for complete information. Updated January 2022
"Just need one or two quick citations? No need to log in or subscribe -- simply generate them in NoodleTools Express and copy and paste what you need into your document."
MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center is the only authorized Web site on MLA style. . . The site provides students and educators with a host of free resources for teaching and learning the MLA’s approach to research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA format template, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner. When style works best, ideas flow logically, sources are credited appropriately, and papers are organized predictably. People are described using language that affirms their worth and dignity. Authors plan for ethical compliance and report critical details of their research protocol to allow readers to evaluate findings and other researchers to potentially replicate the studies. Tables and figures present information in an engaging, readable manner.
MLA Style Citation Guide
Find examples for citing your resources using MLA style. The examples below represent the most common types of citations. Many more examples are available using the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
APA Style Citation Guide
Find examples for citing your resources using APA style. These examples represent the most common types of references. Many more examples are available using the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
To access our library databases, log in using your MCC credentials..
Links to our most popular online resources are available here.
This LibGuide lists all the subscription databases to which we provide access.
Use this link to see the databases and other library resources recommended for your class by our expert librarians.
Michigan Electronic Library (MEL) E-Resources
If MCC webpages are unavailable, try accessing academic databases through the Michigan Electronic Library. Their resources are available to users within the state of Michigan.
Request materials from MELCat
MeLCat is a statewide network of over 400 Michigan libraries. You can search for books, CDs, DVDs and other materials and have the items sent to the Mott Library for you to check out. Request items with the 14 digit number above the barcode on your Mott ID card.
| Search MeLCat
Search for books, audio, movies, music and more!
As an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution, the College encourages diversity and provides equal opportunity in education, employment, all of its programs, and the use of its facilities. The College does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, sex, color, religion, gender, gender expression, gender identity, national origin, veteran’s status, age, disability unrelated to an individual’s ability to perform adequately, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.
Title IX Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center –Student Success Services Center (PCC-2280E), Flint, MI 48503, (810) 762-0024.
Title II, ADA, Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Curtice-Mott Complex (CM-1117, Flint, MI 48503 (810) 762-0373.
Section 504 Coordinator Contact Information: 1401 E. Court St., Prahl College Center (PCC-2280A), Flint, MI 48503 (810) 232-2557.
Mott Community College | 1401 E. Court Street | Flint, Michigan 48503 | (810) 762-0200