Library Guides@mcc.edu: Culinary Arts and Food Management: Internet Resources

Culinary Arts Practice Exam
The following culinary arts practice exam contains typical test questions from a culinary institution or a culinary certification exam. The test is designed to help you prepare for the types of subjects you will learn and be tested on in school, and includes a wide range of skills and topics. It includes questions that test basic knowledge of topics, terms, and techniques in a wide variety of culinary arts related areas. You will need to create a free account to access this information.
more...less...
Available to residents of Michigan. Register for free, and explore the many options available!

Food Safety and Sanitation Resources

Recetas: Cooking in the Time of Coronavirus
UTSA Libraries Special Collections present a selection of recipes from the Mexican Cookbook Collection, the largest in the nation. From soups and stews to salsas and sweets, these dishes are sure to inspire and ignite culinary exploration among those staying at home.
All Recipes
Huge database of user-submitted, rated, and reviewed recipes.
NutritionValue.org
Detailed nutrition information from USDA. Register to calculate and create nutrition labels for your recipes, among other tools.
What's Cooking America
Comprehensive site with recipes, food history, cooking tips, etc.
The Splendid Table
Long before eating local became a catchphrase and farmers' markets became ubiquitous, The Splendid Table was talking about the changes needed in the food system and what was happening on the grassroots level. In fact, when The Splendid Table first went on the air, Lynne had to make sure to define such terms as "organic" and "sustainable" for listeners. Today those terms have become part of the everyday lexicon, and people's hunger for wholesome food and the rituals surrounding it has only increased.

Culinary Competitions Calendar
Find out when ACF approved culinary competitions are happening in your area.
Contest Cook
Recipe contest, cooking contest, Bake-off®, recipe challenge, cook-off, culinary challenge, video recipe contest, even recipe rumble — no matter what the competition is called, all are fun, challenging, and potentially profitable!
The Salt: What's on Your Plate (NPR)
With a pinch of skepticism and a dash of fun, The Salt covers food news from the farm to the plate and beyond. You can connect with senior editor and host Maria Godoy via our contact form or directly by email. You can also reach correspondent Allison Aubrey via email.
Mr. Fries Man reveals a world of home chef entrepreneurs
Batiste is part of an underground community of African-American home chefs in and around South Los Angeles who use Instagram to sell home cooked meals directly to customers.
Rosa Parks' Pancake Recipe Helps Us See The Human Side Of A Hero
". . . Neither Cannon nor Taylor had heard of putting peanut butter in pancake batter before seeing Rosa Parks' recipe. But if the idea would come from anywhere, it would be from Southern African-American food traditions."
Why You Shouldn’t Open a Restaurant
Kenji Lopez-Alt became a rock star of the food world by bringing science into the kitchen in a way that everyday cooks can appreciate. Then he dared to start his own restaurant — and discovered problems that even science can’t solve.

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
The Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
MSU Library - Cookbooks and Food History
MSU's Cookery & Food Collection includes more than 25,000 cookbooks and food-related works from all over the world. The collection spans more than five centuries, from as early as the 16th century up to the present.
The Food Timeline
The origins of foods, historic recipes, extensive teaching resources and web links.
EUVS Digital Collection
THE BARTENDING PROFESSION has a rich and varied history that only recently has come to light during the past two decades. Vintage cocktail and distillation books filled with recipes, techniques, and management procedures are being unearthed and collected at an unprecedented pace.

Taste & Travel Magazine
Taste&Travel is an inspiring magazine that focuses exclusively on the exciting and delicious world of culinary travel.

Discover the hottest new gourmet destinations, epicurean lodgings, cooking schools, culinary cruises, vineyard tours, food trails and walking tours, fine dining restaurants, holes-in-the-wall, chefs, recipes, cookbooks, tips, tricks and other essential information for the culinary traveller and the armchair global gourmet.
Catering, Foodservice & Events
To better reflect our expanded reach, we’ve rebranded. Catering Magazine’s new name is Catering, Foodservice & Events, or CFE.

Our new and expanded website—www.cfe-news.com—is the online destination for all professionals in the catering, foodservice and events industries in North America, who want to stay on top of the latest trends and products.
Restaurant Hospitality
Independent restaurant operators make up the bulk of the $800 billion foodservice industry in the U.S. Those operators include mom-and-pops with a single unit, emerging young concepts with plans for growth and large multi-million-dollar companies with a diverse portfolio of unique restaurant brands. With nearly a 100-year-history, Restaurant Hospitality is dedicated to serving the needs of those independent operators, giving them inspiration and information about how to run their businesses better.

EUVS Digital Collection
THE BARTENDING PROFESSION has a rich and varied history that only recently has come to light during the past two decades. Vintage cocktail and distillation books filled with recipes, techniques, and management procedures are being unearthed and collected at an unprecedented pace.
Cheers! Michigan Radio
Listen to Tammy Coxen, a professional cocktail instructor, and Lester Graham, a journalist with Michigan Radio, The two friends host segments about cocktails on Michigan Radio called “Cheers!” Tammy is the expert, and Lester is the sampler, providing commentary about the cocktail.